Philharmonia_Orchestra_widestrings ©


Thursday 23 January 2020 to Wednesday 29 January 2020
Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre, Concert Hall

Britain’s Philharmonia Orchestra is coming to Japan with a concert which forms the culmination of its 12-year collaboration with the Helsinki-born conductor and composer Esa-Pekka Salonen. Under the leadership of Salonen, who has served as Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor since 2008, the orchestra will welcome the violinist Sayaka Shoji, the youngest ever winner of the Premio Paganini international violin competition, and Norway’s most treasured cellist, Truls Mørk, to unveil an unmissable line-up including Ravel’s suite Le Tombeau de Couperin, Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, and Mahler’s Symphony No. 9 in D Major. A cello concerto composed by Salonen will also be performed in Japan for the first time.

Thursday 23 January 2020, 19.00 
Tuesday 28 January 2020, 19.00 
Wednesday 29 January 2020, 19.00

Venue: Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre, Concert Hall

More information/enquiries

See also

Tag icon
Music, UK in JAPAN 2019-20
Category icon
UK in JAPAN 2019-20 Programme